top of page

I received a Book Excellence Award!

I’m excited to announce that I’ve been recognized as a Book Excellence Award Finalist for my book, Feeling Left Behind: Permission to Grieve, in the grief category. Out of hundreds of books entered into the Book Excellence Awards competition, they selected my book for its high-quality writing, design, and overall market appeal.

Feeling Left Behind was released in 2019. I wrote the book because I felt there weren’t grief books that just allowed widows/widowers to grieve. Most books I saw wanted to help grieving people get over the loss or move through it. While we all hope someday to get to that point, that’s a hard task when the loss is new—and even for years after the loss. By sharing my story, I wanted to normalize the emotions and experiences, so grieving spouses wouldn’t feel so alone.

That being said, becoming a published author has been a long and hard journey. Even more difficult has been trying to reach my audience—all of you suffering from the loss of your spouse. Sometimes I’ve thought perhaps I should give up. Maybe I’m not the person to help widows and widowers. That’s why this Book Excellence Award means so much to me. It’s a reminder that yes, this book is worthwhile and needs to be out there. My widowed friends and family aren’t the only ones telling me my book is good and will help people. These are book experts familiar with grief, and they’re saying my book is quality and has market appeal.

If interested, check out my award listing at Book Excellence Awards. You can get a copy for yourself at Amazon, Google Play, Barnes & Noble, Apple Books, or Kobo. Or order it from your favorite local bookseller.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page